Beyond the English Class

Standard

I understand all you passionate literate people trapped in a small room, full of promises and education, but are restricted to the point of aggravation. (<— feel the pizzaz?)

If you’re a high school student in english class, then you’re fully aware of the prompts we must answer for…ugh….essays. Some of you may be neutral on this, meaning you’re kind of saying “I don’t mind them, but don’t necessarily like them”. Well, I’m quite the opposite. I’m not a complete hater on the art of essay writing; I understand the educational value of it. I just don’t like it when I’m told what to write, and what I must include, and then there’s the good old’ “If you don’t have a majority of the required inputs, then you’re going to get a bad grade”.

In other words, I’m the one who silently or loudly lets out a “AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW shucks, Mrs.Teacher, not an essay”. I’ll do the essay, depending what it’s on, but more often than enough I’ll have a burning passion of utter boredom coursing through my veins. We just don’t compute.

For those who would argue, “Essays, aren’t they the same as writing for your blog? Or your free writing works?” Well, no. It’s entirely different. When I write all by myself without the restrictions of a prompt assigned to me, I tend to get my writing juice flowing. My thoughts flow freely, I don’t have to worry about if it makes much sense (well, that may just be me solely. I’m sure a majority of bloggers like their writing to make sense), or if I’m going to get an F+ for mentioning crack or too much personal information.

I just want an English class where the teacher can read MY work, a topic I thought of, and then give me feedback. I can accept criticism on works that mean a lot to me. I’m not going to care much for feedback on an essay I wrote, bored out of my wits half the time. bN

Rant all you want bloggers. Let it all out

Misu ❤

Leave a Reply

